Wireless hot spot capability

JOhnH

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Right Seater
My wife is the president of her local chapter of a national organization. The building where they hold their monthly meetings has been having internet problems and don't know when or if they will get if fixed.

They usually have around 40 people in attendance and around 20 or so that Zoom in. They are trying to figure out an alternative internet connection, and are talking about some kind of hot spot. Their webmaster's wife is in the hospital and probably going to hospice, so he isn't much help. I'm trying to help, but I'm no expert and I'm concerned about what kind of hot spot can support 20 users wirelessly.

The central station is a laptop that connects via HDMI to a projector, so those zooming in can see what the local audience sees as it is being projected. On the few occasions when those zooming in need to say something, the video is reversed so those in attendance can see the remote speaker.
The laptop has wifi, but with no internet in the building, there is no wifi.

Any suggestions on any sort of wireless hot spot that can handle this kind of load?

Not likely.

We tried a 5G hotspot in a conference with a dozen or so dialed in and 20-ish in the room. It did not go well. Might have been substantially better with a solid 4-bar 5G signal, but we definitely did not have that.

I could be wrong. We’ve only tried it a couple of times in two different locations, but results were not good either time.

How much do you want to spend? You can get a monthly subscription to a fixed wireless installation, depending the location.