Winter weather flying help

JasonM

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
JM
This is my first year making decisions on my own during the winter months. I have been told not to worry about icing up as long as I am not flying in any visible precip or flying in the clouds and the temps are near freezing. I'm only VFR rated and flying a non FIKI airplane, so I am limited to staying out of the messy conditions anyhow.

What I am trying to understand is how I can make the go/no-go call based on percentages in the forecast. If an area is forecast to have a 30% chance of snow , should that scare me from flying?

Is there a magic number to avoid with a non-FIKI VFR dependant situation such as I find my self in. I am thinking it should be possible to dodge and weeve the precip if only 30%, but in reality I can only relate this to a rain shower.

I am flying a G1000 equipped 182 with XM weather.

Reason I ask is there are a few places I want to fly where the forecast looks great for 90% of the flight, but would require me to transition a 40 mile swath of 20-30% chance of snow.

I've flown in overcast day VFR conditions with >10SM visibility in Minnesota and picked up a little bit of clear ice on the wing/prop leading edges and antennas.

If you start picking up more than just a trace of ice, I would just land and reevaluate your situation.

Personally, I would be more worried about having your engine freeze up from being parked without a Tanis heater and cowl blankets than picking up ice in VFR.

Just continue to check the area forecasts, TAF, AIRMET's/SIGMET's, PIREPs and make the best decision. If your second guessing yourself don't go

That would take all the fun out of flying. I need hills and things to watch out for. :)

I have hills and things to watch out for....sometimes that's not so good...