Winds and Flights Training Question

marcoseddi

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
marc
So I'm just starting out on my 2nd hour, and dying to get out there, read half the Aeronautical and pilot handbook. Today in NJ was beautiful however the winds were wild.. I spoke to a pro who said he wansnt bothering and than called up my CFI and he agreed it wouldn't be great so I canceled. So question is, whats the range in winds that are good for training a new pilot? Whats the winds we just don't want to fly these Single engine small planes in?
Would it be good to train in this, hence you can fly in this you can fly in anything type method?

Thanks for your help.

A lot depends on where you are in training and the severity of the winds. You provide no data other than "wild".

10-15 knts where I am at is normal, let's go fly. 25 gusts to 30, not for students.

Time to solo? It's what you are used to. Crosswind training, 15knts max direct crosswind is the max for most training.

Early in your training it's usually better to have winds that are light for your area, that is when you are first starting landings. However, for the first couple flight the CFI is normally doing the landing so it's not that big a deal.
Like Bill says, wild for some is normal for others.

I am a student who just finished all his solo requirements (5 hours XC). For me personally, the speed of the wind is not all that important (under 20 knots). It's the gusts that make me think twice about it. I would rather be in an 18knot crosswind, then a 3knot crosswind with gusts to 13knots.

Also, there are two ways I think are acceptable (could be wrong about this) that people use in cross wind landings.

I just cheat into the wind until the flare, and then straighten up. I think the more common way that's taught, is rudder/lower the wing into the wind all the way in. I have done this a few times, but like it a lot less.