Wind is bad! (NA)

EdFred

Taxi to Parking
Display Name

Display name:
White Chocolate
So I just started biking (cycling) a couple weeks ago to try and get this dilapidated 1974 model back into working shape. I'm doing about a 6-7 mile loop that runs SE/NW (more like a tear drop and FAC combined) to start with, relatively flat terrain, and and just going to keep riding that until it's like walking to the fridge, and then pick up the pace until it's like walking back from the fridge, then increase the distances. The days I had been riding were mostly no wind days and has been taking a bit over 20 minutes to do it, other than the first day. The first day I thought I was going to die less than 1/2 way through the loop. So I've been at about an 18-20mph pace. Today at lunch the wind was out of the SE, and I smoked the first 1/2 of the ride in about 6 minutes. Took 20+ to get back. I won't complain about headwinds in an airplane again.

I feel ya! I started riding to and from work. Unfortunatly to stay outta the less desirable negiborhood I have to go up some nice hills. They look like they should be easy but they haven't gotten that way yet. Today I walked a block. When does it get easier???? It takes me 20min each way. I made it twice last week and I'm aiming for at least three this week. : )

There are bad places in Williamsport?

Evidently a few years back someone had the "good" idea of setting up some halfway houses in Williamsport to give the people a chance to startover in a cleaner enviorment. Well some did... and some just brought Phillys problems to Williamsport.

Missa

Ahh, the mighty headwind. Turned N on Rt 122 yesterday morning at the mid-mark of our 25 mile easy Sunday loop. It had been an easy ride up until that point, when about 1.5 miles before hand someone decided it was time to make our recovery ride a hammer fest (i.e., you are hammering on the gears)