Win 7 network problem

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by pmanton, Oct 29, 2018.

  1. pmanton

    pmanton Cleared for Takeoff PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,140
    Location:
    Indian Hills Airpark Salome, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N1431A
    Wife & I both have Win 7 professional and have our computers networked. I can access hers fine. When she attempts to access mine she gets the "don't have permission" error.

    I have searched mine and opened everything I can think of. I am at a loss as to where to look next.

    Any help would really be appreciated. When I was using another Win 7 computer, everything worked fine, so the problem seems to be on my computer.

    Thanks

    Paul
    Salome, AZ
     
  2. vman

    vman Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    320
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    vman
    do u have a login on yours?
     
  3. Skyrys62

    Skyrys62 En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2,549
    Location:
    KY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Meet the Fokkers
    Both joined to a workgroup?
    If so, make sure both of you are in the admin group.
    And yes, as vman mentioned, you'll need the accounts set up on the new machine.
     
  4. pmanton

    pmanton Cleared for Takeoff PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,140
    Location:
    Indian Hills Airpark Salome, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N1431A
    Neither machine requires a login
    They're both on the home group, both computers show up on the network, I have shared everything on my computer but my wife gets the no permission error as soon as she tries to access mine.

    Non of the built in troubleshooting tools find anything.

    Bah humbug
     
  5. Skyrys62

    Skyrys62 En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2,549
    Location:
    KY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Meet the Fokkers
    Have you rebooted?

    ha ha... kidding.

    You could try: stop the sharing, and re-share. I've seen it work, but for sure no guarantees.
    Also, maybe turn off firewalls as a test.
     
  6. Raymo

    Raymo Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Raymo
  7. pmanton

    pmanton Cleared for Takeoff PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,140
    Location:
    Indian Hills Airpark Salome, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N1431A
    I think I found it My computer states I am connected to the homegroup My wife's says she's connect to Network 2. I have no idea what this network 2, is and why I can see and access her computer.
     
  8. Spring Ford

    Spring Ford Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    176
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SpringFord
    Hi,

    Firstly, take care not to divulge sensitive information on the internet. For example I have edited the computer and user names I have displayed below. I did this even though the computer and user names I actually use are nothing to do with my real name - paranoid eh!

    There are people who can assist you here but you will need to provide some further details.

    Please answer Ray's question "What do you mean by "access?" Drive shares, printer shares, RDP?"

    If you are not sure what that means you could post a screenshot of you accessing it.

    Please also open a Command Prompt and provide the output from the following commands on BOTH computers. The computers should BOTH be connected to the network and you should be "access[ing] hers fine" before you execute the commands. (only the VIEW command actually needs the connection).

    You can easily capture the results with screen shots if you don't know how to copy/paste from the command line. Alt[PrtSc] does a screen shot of the current window.

    One of the commands requires that you provide the computername of the OTHER computer. You will first need to determine the names of both computers with say "set compu".


    Commands to run.

    set compu
    net share
    net use
    net view \\OTHER_COMPUTER_NAME

    In the last one you should provide the name of the other computer. I don't have another computer handy so I can't show you an example.


    C:\Users\Fred>set compu
    COMPUTERNAME=APOLLO

    C:\Users\Fred>net share

    Share name Resource Remark

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    C$ C:\ Default share
    IPC$ Remote IPC
    print$ C:\Windows\system32\spool\drivers
    Printer Drivers
    ADMIN$ C:\Windows Remote Admin
    Users C:\Users
    The command completed successfully.



    C:\Users\Fred>net use
    New connections will be remembered.


    Status Local Remote Network

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Unavailable Z: \\192.168.1.65\public Microsoft Windows Network
    The command completed successfully.

    C:\Users\Fred>net view \\OTHER_COMPUTER_NAME

    Once you provide the info I think that someone here will be able to assist. Quite possibly not me as I don't have much recent experience with windows home networking.

    AMAZINGLY, these commands have not changed since before 1990 - thank you Microsoft. It's not all change for the sake of change.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2018
  9. pmanton

    pmanton Cleared for Takeoff PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,140
    Location:
    Indian Hills Airpark Salome, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N1431A
    Problem solved. I was on HOME network she was on NETWORK 2 .

    This must have happened when I installed my new computer. I have no idea why I could see and access her computer with this screw up.