Why you always check for NOTAMS

stingray

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Daniel Michaels
I was covering the local 4H rocket launching today at the airport. Had a nice long range lens on to capture the rockets at peak liftoff. Nice big crowd. NOTAM posted to close the airport and notice within 5 miles.

Along comes a 177 crosses over the runway and turns downwind. Announcer says "We get a NOTAM to close the airport but sometimes pilots just like to see what is going on" "It looks like he is leaving" I just stood there knowing he probably just turned down wind and was going to land. The announcer went on saying not to flattering things about pilots. Not everyone there knew I was a pilot and I still felt 2' tall. The plane did turn base and final and landed. Turned around taxied back and took back off. I captured the photos as he left. Damning evidence to say the least. You never know who may be around when you do something stupid. Not only did he land but then turned around and took back off rather than waiting till the NOTAM passed. Hard even to forgive the first infraction but come on the second. After that I went and got my portable just in case. To top it all off he turns down wind again and leaves almost over the airport.

Maybe this thread goes in "never again", but I think it is why pilots die or at least crash. How many times do you think a situation can be corrected after an initial mistake? compound it with a second? but throw in three and your just asking for trouble.

Dan

Attachments

• DSC_0042 (Medium).JPG
    DSC_0042 (Medium).JPG
    45.8 KB · Views: 113
I checked to see the NOTAM on the internet through Chartcase and did not see one. I called FSS and they said there were no NOTAMS for KGTG. So do not really know what's up. Probably the village forgot to send it or LM did not post it. I am going to check on Monday to see who is at fault. I don't know how else to check from the internet if FSS can not find it.

Dan