Why should I not buy a Cessna 421.??

Zeldman

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Billy
Just for fun, tell me why I should stay away from a C-421.

And remember I fly people for a living. I don't fly my slack jawed friends around on fair weather days just for fun...:lol::lol:

Because the cabin is small and noisy. Maintainence costs will eat you alive if you can even get parts and of course the engines will never get to tbo even though you replace every cylinder twice trying to get there...........other than that rush right out, bring cash

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wonderful airplane. I flew 135 for an outfit with two Cs and an A and enjoyed every minute. But I was not paying the bills. The owner had megabucks, and that is what it takes.

Bob

If you are flying people for a living, I'd pony up the extra dough for a King Air 90. Better curb appeal, and less of a chance of losing trips due to mechanical issues.

Give me your reason to buy one?
This is the best response. If you don't have a good reason to buy one, then you shouldn't.

But the other responses are good too.

I fly a 421C occasionally at work. It is one of the few airplanes I have flown that I dislike, although I will submit a disclaimer: this airplane is the only 421 I’ve flown, so it’s possible that it’s just that particular airframe that is a turd, but turd it is.

It’s an overly complicated, finicky airplane that burns a ton of gas and is constantly going into the shop for maintenance. Range sucks. We typically have to stop for fuel every 2 hours when hauling an appreciable pax load. With 4-5 people onboard, I could beat a 421 in speed with my 150 kt Beech 18 simply by avoiding all the fuel stops. And I burn less fuel in the Beech 18!

Also, I know more people who have lost an engine on a 421 than any other twin.

Also the hardest piston to hot start.

I’m not a fan.

Because you should buy something more luxurious like a King Air.