Why is this a terrible idea?

infotango

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
rob!
I am a pre checkride student, everything is done except the pre-checkride phase checks and of course the ride itself. Now I’m thinking I don’t really have all that many people who’d want to ride with me in a plane anyways, and I really don’t need a PPL all that soon, so maybe I won’t even bother getting the PPL at all. Its not like I really will find being a VFR only pilot all that useful around the northeast anyways. Basically I just love taking a plane out for a few hours on sunny afternoons, and practicing touch and goes or doing some local flying and maneuver practice. Occasionally when the weather is super nice I like to take a solo xc to visit friends, but this doesn’t happen all that often anyways. I have a weekly budget that I allow for flying. So if I decide to get the PPL I’m looking at spending some extra 700 dollars between rental of planes and instructors for the phase checks, and the examiners fee. If I get the thing I won’t be able to fly for a month or so because I’ll have burned up all my flying money. I’m also worried that I won’t keep flying after that break. Right now I’m thinking about just flying a hour or so each week and start taking training for IFR. What I’m asking is, is this insane? Do I really need a PPL? Anybody go through this before?

Well, you NEED a PPL before you can qualify to get your IFR, for one thing.

You need 50 hours PIC cross country time, minimum.

If you are as close to finishing as you say, quitting now would be like dropping out of school a week before graduation.
Finish it up! Get your ticket! I promise you'll be glad you did. You are probably just going through checkride jitters and need to discuss this with your instructor.
Bill CFI/IA

Definately get your PPL done as it's such a milestone in your training and I'll bet you'll use it!