Why did I do Part 141?

Jaybird180

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Jaybird180
I'm a student, studying for my Private SEL at a Part 141 School. I expected to go on to my Instrument Rating afterwards, and so logically (I thought) enrolled in a Part 141 course as opposed to Part 61.

Now that I've realized that I've spent about $6,000 more (and not yet done), I hear that a P61 Private Pilot also has the P141 Instrument course available to him same as me.

I don't regret learning to fly, but I am beginning to feel a bit of buyer's remorse (lack of knowledge/ understanding bites every time). My preferred P61 school is 30 mins closer to home and I figure I would have saved ~$6,000 along the way.

So, my question is: What do I get for the extra time, money, hassle, etc? What are my advantages? Why shouldn't I leave the P141 program and finish up P61?

If you go to P61 won't you have to prove to a whole new school/CFI that you know how to do stuff? May cost you $500-600 to do so or more.

If you have a lack of knowledge it may be your CFI. If you talk to the head honcho they may be able to switch you to someone else who can pick up where your other one left off.

Shiny brochure?

So, my question is: What do I get for the extra time, money, hassle, etc? What are my advantages?
You get to be instructed by CFIs who have ZERO experience extracting cross country utility from light aircraft, across fronts and in a wide variety of weather systems.
Why shouldn't I leave the P141 program and finish up P61?
OMG! You're going to save five hours of instruction! why would you ever leave a 141 program?

Seriously, the way to do this is almost always in a part 61 program. See if you can ping Marty Mayes on this topic.

Last edited:
Who is this person that you speak of? If you know him, can you send him a link to this thread?

A casual observer might think that you asked this question about $6k too late.