Which way to turn?

TeenDoc

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
TeenDoc
I am studying this IAP in preparation for a flight to Watertown and suddenly I pictured myself in the following situation:

Let's say you missed the first time and are now holding at ART as published. After a few turns around the racetrack and as you complete the turn inbound ATC clears you for the approach again. Upon passing over the VORTAC,
  • Would you turn right in the direction of the holding pattern approximately 260-275 degrees to establish the course to intercept R-275?
or,
  • Would you turn left in the opposite direction of the holding pattern approximately 160-175 degrees to establish the course to intercept R-275?
and,
  • Does it matter?

Attachments

• art_ils_or_loc_rwy_07.pdf
    237.4 KB · Views: 57
Last edited:
I would turn left. It is the shortest turn and terrain clearance shouldn't be an issue.

Does it matter? Probably not. There is nothing that states you make the turn in a certain direction and you're protected on both sides. I generally try and consider all the local terrain in my decisions but the approaches are pretty well designed to protect you as long as you don't do something incredibly stupid.

Last edited:
Ditto. The hold is at 2400' which is also the MSA.

The real question is would a right turn possibly conflict with the guy alread on the loc? Secondly, I'd include "and cross the localizer" or some such verbage in the readback given the 400 ft vertical clearance at the OM.

Does it matter?

Boy you guys come up with some out of the box scenarios. Personally I don't think it matters. Personally, I would turn left. And my default answer to this is: Personally, I would ask ATC what they expect.

Boy you guys come up with some out of the box scenarios. Personally I don't think it matters. Personally, I would turn left. And my default answer to this is: Personally, I would ask ATC what they expect.