Which DSL modem?

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by murphey, Dec 7, 2017.

  1. murphey

    murphey Final Approach

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7,713
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    1) please don't suggest going wireless
    2) please don't suggest cable

    Now that we have that out of the way...the DSL modem ( centurylink ) died and I refuse to pay CL for another piece of crap. My router/ firewall is Linksys. So, any recommendations on a DSL modem?
     
  2. Ravioli

    Ravioli En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,939
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pasta Man
    Which one died and after how long?

    The Motorolas that ATT (we won't talk about crappy service now) provides are solid. I have one at the house and one at the hangar for 5+ years and 3+ years respectively, no modem issues.

    I also have high regard for Netgear's products.
     
  3. gkainz

    gkainz Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,561
    Location:
    Arvada, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg Kainz
    well crap ... there goes my wireless cable solution suggestion! :)
     
    RDUPilot and deonb like this.
  4. Clark1961

    Clark1961 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17,745
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Display name:
    I’ve got an actiontec dsl modem gt701-wg if ya want it. It does me no good so is just gathering dust.
     
  5. RJM62

    RJM62 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    11,850
    Location:
    Catskill Mountains, New York
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Geek On The Hill
    Last one I used was a Netgear. Worked okay, but that was about six years ago. The one before that was an Actiontec, which also worked okay; but the provider owned it and wouldn't let me into the settings.

    I'd just read Amazon reviews if I needed one today.

    Rich
     
  6. Sac Arrow

    Sac Arrow Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    14,943
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Eight Balla
    People are dumping them right and left in my neighborhood. Don't buy a new one. But why wouldn't you one one with a wireless router built in, assuming you don't already have wireless? Cost will be about the same.
     
  7. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,937
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    Do you have the regular 10MB (single) dsl. I have a pile of century link routers here from when I had business service. Every time I complained about the DSL being flakey it seems they sent me another router. I now have the Actiontec 1900 dual-line router. Actiontec is by and large a horrendous piece of crap, but it seems the only game in town right now. The thing has software bugs that I can't get either CL or Actiontec to address.

    If you want one of my old cast offs let me know.
     
  8. deonb

    deonb Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,796
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    deonb
    By “don’t suggest wireless” I assume he means LTE as opposed to 802.11.
     
  9. BigBadLou

    BigBadLou En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    4,887
    Location:
    TX - the friendliest state
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lou
    CL doesn't provide a free replacement? Usually the modem is part of their side and under contract.
    We had a C*aporola from AT&T blow up on us twice, they admitted it and always mailed us a new one overnight.
    But I assume you already checked your contract and CL isn't providing free modems?

    I have no actual modem brand/model suggestion, apologies.
     
  10. Clark1961

    Clark1961 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17,745
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Display name:
    Qwest, before the merge with CL, gave the option to rent or purchase. Break even point was about a year so it’s a no brainer to purchase with a one year warranty. I bought mine when I lived up in the hills and it gave good service for a couple years. Didn’t need it anymore after I moved to town.