Which browser

Dave Siciliano

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Dave Siciliano
My Windows Internet explorer keeps locking up--it's getting very frustrating. Any suggestons on alternatives. I understand some of the alternatives are getting hacked now also.

Best,

Dave

I like Firefox. It has some very nice features which cut down on pop-ups and other adds.

I've been using Firefox for several months now and really like it. I installed the spell checker which made it even better.

Diana said:
I've been using Firefox for several months now and really like it. I installed the spell checker which made it even better.

How did you do that?

I'm using Firefox at work (Mac) and at home (PC). Saturday morning I launch Firefox only to discover that all of my bookmarked pages except the pre-loaded bookmarks were gone. I reloaded some of the pages into the bookmarked folder, but on Sunday morning all gone again. :confused::confused: Any ideas??

Frank, I don't think Firefox is completely closing when you close it out. If you are familiar, do a ctrl+alt+delete and look at the processes to see if FF is still running after you close the window.

Either way, make sure you're on the latest version.

Also, you can backup your bookmarks every once in a while by going to Bookmarks->Manage Bookmarks->File->Export.

I actually have an extension loaded up that exports my bookmarks to a file on the internet via FTP. This way I can synchronize my bookmarks between 3 different computers.

I've used FF for a long time now. It's the first browser that I was happy to leave Internet Explorer for. Much more secure and of course you can download all the goodies (extensions) from their website to further customize it for your needs.

+1 for FF

I like NetCaptor.

http://www.netcaptor.com