Wherdja' fly this weekend?

I took my grandmother to Atlantic City for her 90th birthday. She was wound up! When I did the runup she heard the engines rev and she yelled "Let's ride!!" I was one of the best times I've ever had! It all ended with a blown tire on landing back at KFRG and I just dealt with it, but now to her, I'm a hero pilot.

Last edited:
Took an ex girlfriend to Santa Monica for dinner at The Hump. I hadn't been there before, and had heard that it was the best Sushi/Japanese restaurant on the west coast. I can say now that this isn't an exaggeration. If you're ever in LA, and if you like Japanese, you have to try Omakase there. It's pricey ($250/person), but absolutely amazing. By far the best dining experience I've ever had, and I've had quite a few.

Oh, we got there right as the sun set over the ocean and sadly didn't finish dinner until after 11pm when the airport curfew goes into effect. Poor planning, I guess :D

-Felix

Felix, if she is still your ex after all this, what's wrong with her? :p

As for me, I was at 6Y9 Friday through Monday.

I flew from Waukesha (KUES) to Dubuque (KDBQ) on Sunday, in what was the smoothest air (at least at 6,500 and 5,500 ft) that I've ever flown it. It was choppy below 3,000, but above that it was glass smooth. What a great flight!

My son and I flew the Cub to Grants Pass, Oregon (3S8) this weekend to visit my dad. A couple of weeks ago I spent a week there with my dad in the hospital, wondering if he would make it through. Thankfully he is now at home and doing better, gradually stronger by the day.

The trip home was against a bumpy headwind, averaging 67.5 knots over the 189NM. But we enjoyed the flight and had a wonderful father-son time together.

P1040627.JPG
P1040629.JPG
P1040636.JPG

What a great weekend for flying here in PA! I stayed on the ground Saturday as my student flew solo and I spent time with my sweetheart (The Pittsburgh Renaissance Festival is underway).