When to get renters insurance

Tony R

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Atrosa
Background:
I'm an 53 year old student pilot with only 2.8 hours, but I've arranged my schedule so I can start to fly 3x a week.

Question:
When should I buy renters insurance?
Before solo?
As soon as I started taking lessons?

My school policy was before solo. It protects you from the deductible of the primary insurer… I think… generally speaking.

Therefore, you needed only $5k coverage at my place, check your local listing!

And good for you! Have fun!!

We recommend getting it just prior to your first solo. When you are with the CFI, you are not the PIC and not likely to need insurance. Our school insures renters (including students) for liability, but the renter may be responsible for the deductible for physical damage and lost income while the airplane is unavailable for rent.

before you bend an airplane obvs :)

just prior to solo makes the most sense, you're at your least experienced, and with nobody in the right seat to pin responsibility onto.

My school policy was before solo. It protects you from the deductible of the primary insurer… I think… generally speaking.

Therefore, you needed only $5k coverage at my place, check your local listing!

And good for you! Have fun!!
Just like renting a car, insurance is not included in your rental.
A flight schools insurance policy may not provide you any coverage. This means you could be sued for any injury or death and any property damage as a result of an accident. The school’s insurance company may subrogate against you (collect the amount they had to pay to repair or replace the plane + any other damages or injury claims they paid).

There are a lot of flight schools that require renters insurance that covers their deductible, but doesn’t mean the insurance can’t come back and collect from you for the remainder. Fortunately this doesn’t happen often.