What to bring

U

Unregistered

Greetings,

I am a light sport student but my school has lost their instructor for the aircraft I am training on. I was going light sport because, although I am very healthy now, I have had several ER visits in the past that I would have to track down and prove were resolved. I am considering getting my PPL, but what should I bring my AME to avoid a deferral?

That is a question you'd have to ask your AME. It's not a scary process, call them and ask for a consultation appointment. The FAA isn't involved, there's no medical involved. Be completely open and honest with the AME about your conditions, don't hold anything back. Far better to know.

Before the consultation, try to get any paperwork you can from the medical people, if you tell them it's for an FAA physical, they'll probably know better than you do what you need. The AME will want to see them anyway.

Then - before you schedule an appointment for a medical, KNOW that you will pass it. If you know you're going to be deferred, KNOW what the FAA is going to ask for, the AME can actually ask about your conditions and negotiate what is needed before you even come in. If they're going to ask for tests, get the tests done before your appointment and KNOW that you're going to pass them. Then once you have everything in order, do your physical and submit everything to the FAA.

If you do the above, coming out of your physical you should have one of two results - either you have your medical in hand OR you had to be deferred, but you already know what the FAA is going to ask for and you have already done those tests and given them the information at your physical. They really like proactive health.

There should be no guesswork involved. KNOW the outcome before you get your medical.

If you come across anything that would be disqualifying, stop and back away.

Last edited:
If you're going LSA you don't need to see a AME.