What makes a safe landing?

Kim, although I got my PPL in 1999, I'm a relatively low time pilot due to the long break from flying. I'm slowly creaping up on 200hrs.:lol:

One of the things that really helps me is recording my flights and reviewing the video later. I'm probably just as hard on myself as you are however, when I replay my videos I discover that my landings are way better than I thought at first. Since returning to the cockpit, most of my flights have been solo. My first flight with passengers, I bounced a couple of times due to too much speed and a sucky flare. After dozens of landings, now all of a sudden I bounce:dunno:. I know for a fact it was due to the pressure to perform well for my guest. My last two flights with passengers went much better and ended with nice landings. Back to my original point.... If you can record and study your flights, it might help. It's also very helpful to hear how bad I sound over the radio sometimes:rofl:,... forces me to try improving my transmissions on my next flight.

Why were they putting handcuffs on that U2 pilot at the end of the video?
Can't say I've ever seen one of those... seems a bit off to have it configured like that.

Because the best landing of the bunch was the gear up:rofl:

Me too she told me a story of getting invited into a Lear jet and the captain was her client. He invited her up front and she declined. She was so scared to be on that plane. He called her a white knuckle flyer.

Though I do not believe her, she says if I do this flying thing long enough she may one day get in a plane with me. Her health is not the best right now and she is in some pain so I doubt this will happen.

My grandpa would stroke out if he knew I was a pilot.

I wonder if I would know what bad was and go around? Obviously when I veer to one side I'm not going to add full power since I'd end up in the grass.... so that was one I needed to fix on the runway and not in the air.