What makes a safe landing?

kimberlyanne546

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Kimberly
I've read it a lot on POA and mostly thought it was to make me feel better:

You landed, nothing broke, therefore you had a good flight.

But seriously, what does it take to cause damage? For example, I went off to one side after touching down on Saturday and it is something I've never done before (not like that). It seemed dramatic, I inspected the plane later and couldn't see anything, the other landings were better. Also, in a different landing, I came back off the ground, but not a balloon, more like a small bump, then settled back down. No banging or anything. On a recent flight we heard a HORRIBLE noise in another plane but that was just a loose bolt / screw due to a recent wheel repair where the mechanic forgot to tighten everything up.

I wonder if my CFI was on the controls for so long, if I ever really got to see anything bad?

I wonder if I would know what bad was and go around? Obviously when I veer to one side I'm not going to add full power since I'd end up in the grass.... so that was one I needed to fix on the runway and not in the air.

As long as it doesn't look like this:

ChinaAirMD-11HK.jpeg

Oh for God's sake. On Saturday I had my airspeed on final under control and was lined up so I guess it was OK. I'm sure everyone is hard on themselves but I will admit I had more greasers closer to the checkride and the less I fly the less I land. Even when I do fly I never think "hmmm I should do a few laps around the pattern."

A good landing is a slow landing. Also, centerline is for pros - be there.