What is the best way to fly for an airline?

ShaggyAce

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
ShaggyAce
I am planning on becoming a pilot, Im currently a sophomore in college, obtaining an accounting degree as a fall back. Should I try to get my training through the military? I am hesitant because of the 10 year commitment and the scarcity of pilot slots, and my true dream is just to fly for the airlines. I dont want to serve in the military if I cant be a pilot. I have thought of paying myself through civilian training at a local flight school but I would have to do so using a loan. I already have a student loan for 50,000 to obtain my degree. With the training I'd be out of college with my degree and license with about 100,00-120,000 in debt. Is it worth it? Will I have enough to pay off my loans on time after college with a possibly job at a regional airline? (Ill always have my accounting degree)

This may or may not be good advice, but I was on your path many many many years ago. I ended up working in tech, and not for the airlines, and I'm not sure it's very rewarding emotionally, but it's a lot more rewarding fiscally. :)

I ended up taking about 7 years off from flying, which sounds like an eternity, but now I'm back full-force with an 1/3 ownership in an LLC that has a sweet little ol' 1975 C-182P, and flying whenever I feel like driving a mile and a half to the airport and turning the key. It's wicked fun to whip out your own airplane keys and head for the airport.

Decided to also do an aviation podcast, and tried a crazy idea of approaching three complete aviation strangers I met via social media (Twitter) to co-host it with me. We're having a ball and I gained four or five great friends in one year of doing the show. We've also met some incredible people in aviation in that one year's time.