What is a "quit claim deed"?

gismo

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
iGismo
For the lawyers out there (or anyone else who knows real estate law), I'm trying to learn what the circumstances are when real property ownership can be transferred with a quit claim deed and what the ramifications of such a transfer are.

I'm not a lawyer, and I didn't even sleep at a Holiday Inn last night, but I did have to look up this same thing a couple months back.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quitclaim_deed

Basically, if you give a "Quit Claim Deed" on your property, you're "quitting any claim" of interest you have in the property--it goes from you (the grantor) to the new party (grantee) with no claim (lien or otherwise) by you against the property.

At least that's how I understood it after reading the article referenced above.

Can't speak for your state Lance but generally its a pretty crappy deed. I always insist on at least a deed of special warranty for my clients. Basically your saying " I'm giving you what ever interest I have" Problem is you could have belmishes on your interest.

Can't speak for your state Lance but generally its a pretty crappy deed. I always insist on at least a deed of special warranty for my clients. Basically your saying " I'm giving you what ever interest I have" Problem is you could have belmishes on your interest.

What he said.

Stay the heck away from quitclaim deeds. They're not even the equivalent of an "as is" car sale - at least with the car sale, you can get $100 bucks for the car at the junkyard.