What exactly is "Sleep Apnea"?

SkyHog

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Everything Offends Me
I have seen many posts about Sleep Apnea being a big medical buster.

What exactly is "Sleep Apnea?" I know that my father has this thing where when he sleeps, he stops breathing for a while (sometimes its scary), and then eventually he GASPS REALLY LOUDLY for air. I've always thought that was sleep apnea, but I'm not sure.

Am I right? And if so, how common is it, and why would that be a medical buster (it only effects sleeping, right?)

I'm no doctor, but that sounds exactly like sleep apnea to me Nick. It's a much more serious condition than just being tired. When you stop breathing at night, your body gets deprived of a lot of oxygen, causing a multitude of problems (possible hypertension, heart disease, stroke, etc.). My doctor told me that the health risks involved are similar to smoking two packs a day. Please have your father get a sleep study,(overnight in a hospital), and get it treated if he does have it. They are just finding out how dangerous it can be left untreated.

Mike

NickDBrennan said:
I have seen many posts about Sleep Apnea being a big medical buster.

What exactly is "Sleep Apnea?" ....(it only effects sleeping, right?)
There are two kinds of Sleep Apnea. What happens to some individual is that the tongue flops back during sleep and obstructs the airway. Carbon dioxide builds up but over the years you become sleep tolerant to the CO2 and only when the brain senses low oxygen, it arouses, there's a loud shudder as it arouses and tightens the hyoid muscles that raise the base of the tongue off the back of the throat and a deep breath occurs. The cycle begins over again.