What do you think of this laptop?

purdue1014

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Brent
Hello All,

I wanted to see what your opinions might be on this laptop.

http://usa.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=24&l2=0&l3=0&l4=0&model=1907&modelmenu=1

I'm looking to get something cheap, (I'm a student) that is great for word processing, and some web-browsing. Amazon has it listed for $300, and it looks like it fits the bill quite nicely for me, but seeing as I know nothing about Linux, I thought that I'd ask here. I'm thinking of just using a 4GB SD card for memory, to keep things simple/portable, your thoughts? I would be going between XP and this.

Thanks,

Purdue

It looks cute and it might be a nice little item to have in the cockpit. But, for student use where you'll be doing a LOT of writing? That tiny keyboard is going to draw out some cuss words you never knew you were capable of.

For around $500-600, you can get a decent 14.1" with a full keyboard that will be a lot more comfortable for constant use. Check out the deals offered at Microcenter.com. They come very highly recommended in both their retail stores and online access.

I just got an Acer from Microcenter for 379. I plan to put in more memory (it has half a gig of RAM) so the full 2 gigs will bring that price up somewhat - but it's a good little machine.

Thanks guys. That was my main concern as well. I will check out Micro Center, (I could probably swing $380) and still would appreciate any further opinions on this machine. I do like the portability....:yes:

Purdue

I do like the KISS approach, and with that in mind, I'd need to upgrade MS Office to the new Vista version, no? I'm referring to:

http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0266362

Thanks!