What aircraft would best fit...

Murrgh

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Murrgh
Flying from NJ to VA?

The situation I'm in is this.. I'll have my PPL VFR by Mid May and will be commuting from VA to NJ monthly, which is a ~275nm trip, one way. I currently am training in a C172 equipped with a G1000 and is the only aircraft I have flown (There's about 6-8 C172/G1000 each with different features, we rotate flying each one)

Flying commercially is roughly $800 for one person, I may have another passenger which would double the cost. Trains are not an option, seeing as it isn't much cheaper than flying commercially.

This is where I need advice...

I can rent a C172, which would work for the weekend trips, but they're $169.99/hr, and I can't keep them with me while I'm in NJ for weeks or longer.

So what aircraft would you recommend using for this? I am relatively new to Aviation and would love to hear advice from every prospective. I would like to fly something as new as the 172's with G1000's, but that's not a requirement.

Thanks,
Murrgh

It kind of depends on how much money you can afford. The C-172 will handle that distance okay (in my opinion).

Are you looking to buy a plane? What is your budget? Are you going for your IR?

At the end of the day, it will never be cheaper than flying commercial (once a month) and it certainly won't be reliable. You won't be able to justify the cost or be able to depend on whether or not you can make the trip, so the trick is to not worry about any of that and just buy a plane and fly the trip when you can and have lot more fun when you do get to go GA.

Eventually I will be getting my IFR, hopefully working on that over the summer, then Multi after that. Budget is around $150,000, can spend more, just looking for a used plane around that area.

C-172/C-182

PA-28-180.