Weather and GPS to my Iphone???

Herdbull

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Jim
My apologies if this question has already be discussed in the forums. I did a quick search of past threads and didn't see what I am looking for.

I am a private pilot. I earned my license in college and basically haven't flown since 1997. I am now 40 years old and getting back into flying. I just bought into a 172 flying club. I only have 120 total hours and only 4 or 5 this year.

Back in college (1997) when I was flying 1997 I had a garmin GPS. I no longer have that unit. I now need to buy a GPS. However, it is my understanding that possibly I can buy a reciever that interfaces with my iphone that will not only give me GPS capability on my iphone, but will give me weather as well.

As you can see, I am very behind the times on aviation technology. I don't want to buy more than I need and I don't want to buy junk. I am VFR pilot who plans to fly VFR routes generally less than 150 miles in Michigan. I am an Apple fan. I have an iphone and I was hoping to get a unit that interfaces with my iphone. My research has confused me a little and I am not clear on what I need. I am hoping for advice from this forum.

Again... my basic desires:

1. Interfaces with an Iphone... Not an Ipad. I don't want to buy an Ipad if I can help it. I prefer to use an Iphone only.
2. GPS
3. Weather

Don't want a tool that is capable of 10,000 more things than I am capable of or desire to do.

Price range...??? I don't know. Like anyone else, I only want to spend what I have to spend for a dependable and reliable unit. I value these tools as critical parts of a pilots safety system. So I am willing to pay for quality as I value my safety.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Again... I apologize if you have discussed this very subject and I missed the thread.

Jim