Victor Airways

TN Tom

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
TN Tom
I live in East Tennessee, approximately seven miles south of the Victor 16 Airway center line. V16, heading slightly SW (252 degrees) eventually intersects with Knoxville VORTAC.

Standing on a small hill, near my barn, I have gotten in the habit of watching jet contrails-most notable of which those that are made in the direction of Knoxville-roughly from east to west.

My reading tells me that Victor Airways are controlled Class E airspace from 1,200 AGL up to, but not including, 18,000 feet MSL.

My first question is, do jet aircraft flying above FL 180 (18,000') follow the same Victor Airways-only at a greater altitude or do they have their own designated airways?

I have no background in aviation, but am working on a website that is aviation related. Any help provided is much appreciated.

I live in East Tennessee, approximately seven miles south of the Victor 16 Airway center line. V16, heading slightly SW (252 degrees) eventually intersects with Knoxville VORTAC.

Standing on a small hill, near my barn, I have gotten in the habit of watching jet contrails-most notable of which those that are made in the direction of Knoxville-roughly from east to west.

My reading tells me that Victor Airways are controlled Class E airspace from 1,200 AGL up to, but not including, 18,000 feet MSL.

My first question is, do jet aircraft flying above FL 180 (18,000') follow the same Victor Airways-only at a greater altitude or do they have their own designated airways?

I have no background in aviation, but am working on a website that is aviation related. Any help provided is much appreciated.