very stupid observation

spiderweb

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ben
i'm an instrument rated pilot. i have been for two years now. it took blood sweat and tears. every now and then i think, man that was quite an accomplishment. if you aren't instrument rated, i challenge you to get rated! seriously, it is very good for your technique, and the dirty little secret is that it is an extremely fun rating to shoot for.

I can't wait to do it. I'd have the rating now if I could afford to do the way I want to: Lots of actual, in my own IFR airplane.

If aviation were easy and cheap, it wouldn't be as much fun, I guess.

I wish I'd gone ahead and "picked at it"... after more than ten years, I'd have finished, for sure. But I've put it off again and again. :redface:

But... soon! :yes:

i'm an instrument rated pilot. i have been for two years now. it took blood sweat and tears. every now and then i think, man that was quite an accomplishment. if you aren't instrument rated, i challenge you to get rated! seriously, it is very good for your technique, and the dirty little secret is that it is an extremely fun rating to shoot for.

I couldn't agree with you more on this.

I cannot recall a single person saying, with regard to the rating; "Damn. I wish I'd never done that!"

I have heard others say it was "the most satisfying of ratings" and others say it was "the most...intellectual of flying they had done".

I think it is the most thorough combination of "faith and flight" of all aviating you may do.

Getting the instrument rating was:
* challenging
* rewarding
* exhilarating
* expensive

Man, I'm glad that both Leslie and I got it!

Very inspiring! I've had my ticket for 20 months (kind of like a baby - for a while you just use months) and am still working on building my XC time more slowly than I would prefer.