Venturi driven AI +DG working poorly

Velocity83

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Loopadoop
Hello everyone, first post here so please be nice.... :)

Im a student pilot and have been lucky enough to be loaned an aircraft from a good friend to learn and save $$$

Recently i have been noticing the DG and today the AI totally not working correctly. These instruments are ran by the double venturi vacuum system as I'm sure you all know.
I looked at the suction indicator and noticed that I'm getting around 3 to 3.5, should this be enough to correctly run those instruments? If not is there anything we could do to improve this?

Any info and knowledge would be wonderful.

Thanks in advance.

What does the POH say on the Vac? I am looking for something north of 5 on my Archer. 3 seems a bit low to me.

So there is no actual vacuum pump, just a venturi mounted to the air frame? In that case they never work right on the ground...and they sort of work in flight.

What year airplane and model is this? What problem precisely are you having with the DG and attitude indicator? Be as descriptive as possible.

They should work fine in flight.

Most old GA planes flying today with or without vacuum pumps also have old hoses so hard they leak at the fittings and over the years the regulator was adjusted to compensate until one day there just isn't enough vacuum anymore. When the hoses get replaced and the regulator has to be tuned the other direction.

Last edited:
Ahh,,.....so it's one of the old Cessna styles mounted on the right right just behind the cowl? No actual vac pump, correct?