Vbulletin MySQL error

gkainz

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Greg Kainz
another board I visit is throwing an error and they have no support. I'm an Oracle DBA but have never touched MySQL. A quick google search shows options for Repair Table in MySQL - would that be the first obvious fix for something like this error?
--------------------------------------
vBulletin Database Error!

Database error in vBulletin 3.8.4:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT post.*,
IF(post.visible = 2, 1, 0) AS isdeleted,
editlog.userid AS edit_userid,
editlog.dateline AS edit_dateline,
editlog.reason AS edit_reason, editlog.hashistory
FROM post AS post
LEFT JOIN editlog AS editlog ON (editlog.postid = post.postid)
WHERE post.postid = 1624179;

MySQL Error : Table './diese3_vb/post' is marked as crashed and should be repaired
Error Number : 145

another board I visit is throwing an error and they have no support. I'm an Oracle DBA but have never touched MySQL. A quick google search shows options for Repair Table in MySQL - would that be the first obvious fix for something like this error?

Yes.

It's also common when there's a huge load on the system or one of the tables got corrupted. I've yet to find any software error messages that mean anything until you understand what caused the problem. a** Backwards and has been for decades.

Before repair, can you get a dump of the current contents of the table and examine it? It may be something simple as a data type conflict that snuck thru or worse case, the whole table is trash...er...corrupted.

Do you have the DDL that created the table? After attempting to repair, the next option would be to delete it (and hope there's a backup to reload the data) and re-create it.

Last edited:
The vbulletin admin gave me access to the admin cp page (which appears to be the vbulletin panel, not any mysql admin).

Under Maintenance, Diagnostics, I see

post ... Table './diese3_vb/post' is marked as crashed and should be repaired