Using my Plane for Work Travel

pilotmichael

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
PilotMichael
Let's say I am a partner in a business (sub chapter s corp), I own maybe 5% of said business to keep things easy, and I am also employed by said business. I want to personally buy a plane and then use it for some fun but also make it easier to visit our branch offices.

What are the tax implications? Positive/negative.
What are the liability implications for the business?
What haven't I thought about?

Before you say "talk to your tax and legal adviser", you bet I am going to do that. Just curious if anyone out there has a similar arrangement and can lend any advice like "nightmare, don't even bother".

Having the/a business buy the plane would be the cleanest setup of course and may be an option but I may want to go my own route.

Thanks,

I'm not a tax dude, but I am a professional pilot and have my own plane. I can say if your plane isn't MAKING you some money, or at least trying to (al la CPL + certified and 100hr inspections), there are quite a few tax benifits that don't apply

I think using your own aircraft for business is a horrid idea unless you have an extremely capable aircraft. Sooner or later you will feel pressure to do something you shouldn't. This is the unfortunate beginning in far far far too many NTSB reports.

I think using your own aircraft for business is a horrid idea unless you have an extremely capable aircraft. Sooner or later you will feel pressure to do something you shouldn't. This is the unfortunate beginning in far far far too many NTSB reports.

Not necessarily. I use my own plane for business travel when it makes sense. If it doesn't make sense, I book a flight or drive. You just have to have self discipline. This is no different than wanting to use it for a personal vacation with the family packed up staring at you waiting for you to make a go/no-go decision.

I use mine for business all the time. It is a big time-saver.