Upgrading panel for 1975 Piper PA28-151

Rocketman90251

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Richard
I have a PA28 with a basic panel. I have one Michel TKM 170C Nav/Com radio, a transponder, and an old Trimble GPS that I don't use. My plane currently only has headphone jacks for the pilot. Nothing for copilot or passengers. I recently purchased a Garmin GMA340 audio panel that I haven't installed yet.

I'm looking at the best way to do some panel upgrades that, hopefully, won't break the bank. Used equipment is an option.

Does anyone have any recommendations on what would be the best equipment to add? I'm a newbie VFR pilot.

It seems to me that the first thing I should consider is adding a second radio. Should I add a second \ TKM 170C Nav/Com, something else, or should I add a Nav radio only such as the Garmin SL40? Is it better to go with older avionics such as the SL40 someone has pulled out for an avionics upgrade or should I go with new?

Does anyone have any thoughts on what would be the best equipment to add?

All thoughts are appreciated.

Attachments

• 20170703_082446.jpg
    20170703_082446.jpg
    110.2 KB · Views: 67
You're heading in to a world of spending. But it can be fun.

First off... you can get a transcom intercom for $300. http://www.sportys.com/pilotshop/tr...s7cYCpNpE20t1nc9L7yjgTcUYiDchhSRoCDdAQAvD_BwE

That will solve your passenger listening needs quite inexpensively.

Then for a second radio, don't get the SL40, get the SL30 so you'll have dual nav/com.

Those two changes will take care of a LOT of your needs for under $5k installed, with no throw away costs later when you go ballistic and get a GTN750 with all the things and such.

Eventually all the money will be spent, but you can tackle things in order of need.

You want more avionics? Sell your aircraft and buy one that already has them. Steingar, the guy who's about to sink another 8 AMUs into his 55 year old airplane.