Updated Database for Garmin 400/500 Trainer

Discussion in 'Pilot Training' started by Somedudeintn, May 3, 2016.

  1. Somedudeintn

    Somedudeintn Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    Knoxville, Tn
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    somedudeintn
    FYI,

    If you've been using the Garmin 430 (400/500) trainer and using the 2007 database I've got a useful tip that can update you to the December 2015 database. I've been using this trainer a bit as I'm prepping for my IFR checkride to make sure I know how it will sequence me in different scenarios, how to stay in a hold on a GPS approach, etc. Its been a bit of a pain using the 2007 database.

    If you've already got the 400/500 trainer installed, then you just need to download the GTN/GDU 620 trainer and pull the database from it. You can get that here... http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=9256

    Trainer - Common App Data - Garmin - GTN Trainer Data - DB and then copy the worldwide.bin file from there over the current worldwide.bin file in your 400/500 install directory. I first renamed the worldwide.bin in C:\Program Files (x86)\Garmin\GNS400W-500W Trainer\Trainer to worldwide2007.bin to have it as a backup in case of an issue.

    Hope this helps a few of you out!
     
  2. kjwalker01

    kjwalker01 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Keith
    Pretty cool. Thanks for the tip!
     
    Somedudeintn likes this.
  3. whattauser

    whattauser Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Whattauser
    Worked perfect. Thanks!
     
    Somedudeintn likes this.
  4. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    19,990
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
    Nice!
     
    Somedudeintn likes this.
  5. \__[Ô]__/

    \__[Ô]__/ Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    david
    Thanks for the heads up. Does anyone know if there's a way to obtain the Dec. approach plates that go along with this database?
     
    Somedudeintn likes this.
  6. Somedudeintn

    Somedudeintn Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    Knoxville, Tn
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    somedudeintn
    Build a time machine and download them here...

    http://www.faa.gov/air_traffic/flight_info/aeronav/digital_products/dtpp/

    Surely someone has old plates stored somewhere on the Internet. I'd be interested in getting them as well.
     
  7. Somedudeintn

    Somedudeintn Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    Knoxville, Tn
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    somedudeintn
    I also tried to look at some cached versions of the FAA website but did not have any luck.
     
  8. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17,567
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    If you have the 480 trainer, you can copy the two database files off anybody's 480 CF card (they're just FAT file systems). There's no serial number check in the simulator.
     
    GMascelli likes this.
  9. Glen Leite

    Glen Leite Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Glen
    I just downloaded the GTN/GDU sim to get the database, but it does not have worldwide.bin but bmap.bin instead. The GNS430 install has two bin files: basemap.bin and worldwide.bin. Am I missing something?
     
  10. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,265
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    I did it to. Heres what I got in Trainer - Common App Data - Garmin - GTN Trainer Data - DB
    006-d0170-00.bin 15 MB
    006-d0170-30.bin 6.48 MB
    bmap.bin 20 MB
    safetaxi.bin 14.1 MB
    card 1 GB
    terrain.odb 8.77 MB
    TERRAIN.TDB 928 MB
    Everyone above was doing this in May. Something must have changed since then
     
  11. Glen Leite

    Glen Leite Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Glen
    I renamed the -30.bin to worldwide.bin and that worked for North America data base. I also renamed bmap.bin to basemap.bin, gns430 works with either the new baseman or the original one. Haven't done anything with the terrain or safwtaxi yet.
     
  12. Somedudeintn

    Somedudeintn Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    Knoxville, Tn
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    somedudeintn
    What the expiration date on the data as shown in the 430 simulator when using the 30.bin? I may update my trainer file if it's a newer database.
     
  13. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,265
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    I did the 006--d170-00 file. At 15MB I figured it to be the one. It worked, got cycle 1607 effective 23-JUN-16. Things seem to work ok. But it did not have KVUO in in there. Couldn't initialize to it, do direct to it or anything. It does exist and has an Instrument Approach. Does anyony know of an approach that didnt exist 5 years ago but does now? And one that did exist 5 years ago and does not anymore?

    It seems both the 30 file and the 00 file are working for us. One is 6.48MB, the other is 15MB. Wonder what the difference is
     
  14. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,265
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    OK. 00 is worldwide and 30 is north america. Either one we rename to worldwide.bin but when you start up it shows either world wide or north american. The cycle # and effective/expires dates are the same. KVUO shows up now. I think they took some of the smaller airports out of the worldwide database to save room
     
  15. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,265
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Good find @Somedudeintn. I've always hated that the trainer was so far out of date. ThankYou
     
    Somedudeintn likes this.
  16. obelix

    obelix Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    obelix
    The update from Dec 1st 2016 seems different. Looks like the World/North America files no longer work when renamed to worldwide.bin. Anyone else try this recently?
     
  17. obelix

    obelix Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    obelix
    Can anyone share 006-d0170-00.bin 15 MB
    006-d0170-30.bin 6.48 MB?
     
  18. Max

    Max Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Max
     
  19. Jakub

    Jakub Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jakub
    Hi Max, did you get the worldwide.bin file? Or anyone else to share?
    Thank you very much ;)
     
  20. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11,230
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    Updated gtn 6xx/7xx trainer is available as well.
     
  21. Bruce H

    Bruce H Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    brucehvn
    I know this is an old thread, but I just got a 430W and I downloaded the trainer program. It has the old 2007 databases. I downloaded the trainer referenced above but it appears they've changed the databases again. The only .bin files in the package are:
    Code:
    bmap.bin
    nav_db2.bin
    nav_db2_grm.bin
    safetaxi.bin
    
    I tried renaming bmap.bin to basemap.bin, but that just crashes the sim.
    I tried renaming each of the nav_db2*.bin to worldwide.bin, but that just hangs the sim at the "Initializing System" message.

    Does anyone have a newer worldwide.bin that works with the 400/500 trainer?
     
  22. Somedudeintn

    Somedudeintn Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    Knoxville, Tn
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    somedudeintn
    I've got a file from 2018. Send me your e-mail address in a private message and I'll e-mail it to you.
     
  23. Somedudeintn

    Somedudeintn Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    Knoxville, Tn
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    somedudeintn
    Ok I just sent it out to those that messaged me, if I missed you then please send another message.
     
  24. Jeff Fricke

    Jeff Fricke Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lister
    I've been trying to get the GNS databases for awhile also. No luck in getting things to work.
     
  25. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,265
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Worked for me. The path on my comupter is C:/Program Files(86)/Garmin/GNS400W-500W Trainer/Trainer . In there I renamed worldwide.bin to worldwide_.bin and then copied the worldwide.bin @Somedudeintn sent me. It updated the Worldwide Aviation Database to cycle 1513, 10-Dec-15 thru 07-Jan-16. PM me your email and I'll forward it to you or you might try the dude in tennessee and cut out the middle man.
     
  26. Jeff Fricke

    Jeff Fricke Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Lister
    I'll do that. Thanks
     
  27. Somedudeintn

    Somedudeintn Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    Knoxville, Tn
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    somedudeintn
    Thanks for letting me know the database was the 2015/2016 one. I think I’ve got a more current one on my other computer that I’ll try to check tonight and upload somewhere that I can post a link to.
     
  28. T S

    T S Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    stim
    +1 - I tried the garmin link download and the sim didn't take the database. It says No Jeppesen Database.
     
  29. Banjo33

    Banjo33 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    MS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Banjo33
    Anyone have any idea if this can be used to update the FSX database?
     
  30. Somedudeintn

    Somedudeintn Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    Knoxville, Tn
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    somedudeintn
    redtail likes this.
  31. Patrick Brehm

    Patrick Brehm Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    C-GSZT
    Readers following this thread, felt I had to provide this report. Outstanding. Recently I acquired the RealSim 530W simulator device for my XPlane 11. Following instructions I loaded RealityXP software prior to provide essentially a full version of Garmin capability, which the XPlane version of a 530W does not have, on a 172. It took me 3 days but I got it all working. A little disappointing at first is the RealityXP uses the Garmin trainer software for the 530W, which has 2009 data, and up here in Canada, drastic change in approach waypoints. One can still get competent in all aspects of a 530 with old data, but... So I followed Somedudeintn advice above using his 2016 data, and voila, it works great. The data in even that database for the Canadian airports I have been practising on is accurate to date. BTW, I own a 182R model, and acquired a pre-owned tested 530W to install. I am appreciative of this pilotsofamerica resource.
     
    redtail likes this.
  32. redtail

    redtail En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,335
    Location:
    93 million miles from the sun
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Redtail
    I recently purchased the RealSimGear G1000 and (GTN750 to used with RXP XP-11 software). Sucks that the databases are so far out dated.
    I need to look into this.

    Thanks

    ...When I complete my current sim setup, it will be dual purpose.
    1. G1000

    2. Steam Guage (via Air Manager software) + GTN750.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2020 at 11:25 AM