Unknown Avionics

Jeff Mathews

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
AV Instructor
I was wondering if anyone can identify some unknown avionics and indicators. I work as a maintenance instructor at Hallmark University and we recently acquired a Cessna 210B for training and I need help finding out what some of the unidentifiable indicators are because we have not received the maintenance records yet. First, what is the additional turn-and-slip indicator (1st picture) associated with? It has a knob label that reads autopilot, anyone know what type/model? On the second picture, what are the top 2 indicators immediately left of the radio stack? Is it for an ILS and if so what model or piece of avionics is it associated? Lastly, what is very top panel on the last picture? It has a DME switch and a switch to select either Nav 1 or 2. Anyone know what this is associated with or is it self-contained? Thanks in advance for the help.
upload_2022-4-20_10-28-4.jpegupload_2022-4-20_10-28-45.jpegupload_2022-4-20_10-28-58.jpeg

Not sure about the autopilot turn coordinator.

Middle two look like a KI-211C or KI-214, and a KI-201C, which are VOR/LOC/GS and VOR/LOC indicators that would have originally come with King 170 NAV/COMs.

Last seems to be a KI-266 DME indicator which is a "head unit" for a remote mount DME transceiver.

You can find descriptions/pics of a lot of old stuff at bennettavionics.com.

I am not 100% certain about the turn coordinator, but in my Cessna Cardinal, the 200A autopilot derives the bank inputs based on information from the electric turn coordinator. So, it does not surprise me to see an association between the turn coordinator and the original Cessna autopilot system in this aircraft.

What year aircraft? You might be able to find more information in the POH.

Last edited: