Unexpected helo in the pattern

stagecoachco

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Tony B
(Disclaimer – I am a pre-solo 6 hour Student, if I say anything stupid or wrong, it probably is…)

Ok, so on my last flight with my instructor, we were coming back to BJC to land. We called up Tower, and were given a downwind entry to 29R. No problem, my instructor let me fly into the pattern holding 6500 msl (pattern alt for BJC). As we started downwind we were cleared 2nd to land behind another Cessna. ATC also called out traffic @ 1.5 miles, 11 o’clock. We both looked pretty hard, but didn’t see anything. We started our turn to base, and ATC again called traffic, helicopter @ our Alt, 11 o’clock, ½ mile. By now I am getting nervous as ½ mile is not very much separation, esp as we did not see the Helo yet. Well about ¼ second latter (as we initiated our turn to final) I spot the Helo at 1-2 o’clock at our alt. The CFI took the plane and extended our turn to final to go around the Helo. My question is what was the helo doing at the approach end of the active runway at a Class D airport, at pattern altitude. I do not recall any radio traffic between the Helo and ATC. I do recall some helos requesting a “Ball” takeoff shortly before we turned base. ATC only mentioned that the traffic was a helo on the last call. Can you sling wingers give any insight? Anything any of you would have done different?

I admit it was a little freaky seeing the Helo at about 1000’ and at our altitude as we were turning final. I kind of lost it a bit on the subsequent landing, but at this point I am only doing “assisted” landings, so the CFI pretty much landed the plane. We didn’t really talk about it during the debrief (I really started thinking about it as I drove home).

My question is what was the helo doing at the approach end of the active runway at a Class D airport, at pattern altitude.