Underactive thyroid

U

Unregistered

Hello, I have a quick couple of questions on what I need to do as far as my medical cert. is concerned.
I just found out earlier this week that I have an underactive thyroid. Now the little bit of research I have done indicates this isn't really a major issue once I get the thyroid hormone dosage correct. My question is I am a student pilot and have gotten my 3rd class medical before having found out about this condition. Do I need to notify the FAA before I am due for my next physical? From looking at the FARs on aopa it looks like I just have to let them know at my next physical with documentation from my doctor showing that it is under control with no adverse side affects from the medication. Am I reading this correctly?
Thanks for any help that is forthcoming.

I believe you just have to notify them at your next physical, and you should probably get a letter from your doc before then saying that you are euthyroid (your thyroid levels are normal) with medication and you are suffering no secondary effects from the hypothyroidism.

BTW, don't sweat the disorder too much. It's very common, and all five of us in my family are hypothyroid. The trick is to get a doc that will work with you on dosage. The important thing is to not try to get your numbers right, but rather tailor the dose to where you *feel* better. The numbers will bounce around and are pretty sensitive, and there is argument even among endocrinologists what a "good" TSH number is. The current guidance is less than 3.3, but many people do not feel better (me included) until their TSH is less than 2.

Good luck!