Uncontrolled field protocol

2Airtime2

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Cherokee 180c
I'm a low time pilot but I feel like I should know the answer.

Saturday was a nice day to fly and there were lots of planes taxiing, taking off, landing, and in the pattern. Everyone is announcing their intentions and everything seemed smooth. I turn final and the jump plane announces he's taxiing onto the runway for takeoff. I continue my decent thinking he's going to expedite his movement, nope. I had to abort my landing by turning to the right (right traffic pattern) and fly 500' below the downwind leg with 2 planes on the downwind. I had immediately announced what I had to do and we all three had each other in sight so it was a non issue. I circled around to the left and re-entered the 45 downwind.

What was supposed to happen to avoid me having to abort my landing? I heard the jump plane announce he was taxiing to the runway but as far as I know he never announced he was taking off til I was on short final. You know, I always look to the right before I taxi onto the runway. No matter who had the right of way, how the he!! do you (as a commercial pilot) pull right out onto the runway and stop?

Once he took the runway, right or wrong, best would be to go around, maintain runway heading, and offset to one side of the runway, announce position and intent, and rejoin the pattern on the crosswind.

What you did was survived. Nothing wrong with that.

Flying is learning.

Well if you were on final before he taxied onto the runway, than technically you had the right of way and he should’ve held short and waited.

Other than that, it’s just 2-way communications between you and the other pilots to coordinate what you’re going to do (although it’s not required).

Your question: What was supposed to happen? Aircraft on final has the right-of-way.