TYPE 1 DIABETIC PILOTS

Joshua M. Frazier

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Josh F.
Looking to see if anyone on here can answer some medical questions for me on this. I hold a Sport certificate, but I'm looking really hard at upgrading to Private, since that's what I started training as before I found out I had late onset Type 1 diabetes. Luckily, my AME didn't turn in my medical to the FAA, but he clearly stated "Sorry, there is no way you can fly with Type 1." I've talked to a different AME, and he wasn't very positive nor experienced with providing me information with the issue.
My question, is wether it is worth the hassle to go for it, or just stick with my Sport ticket. I've never "passed/failed" a 3rd class medical, but I would REALLY hate to lose my Sport ticket and not be able to fly at all. I'm not looking for commercial ratings, just expanding my options of aircrafts and an IFR rating. Anyone who has been through this that could give me a little feedback would be GREATLY appreciated!

Type 1 treated with insulin is doable as a "special issuance", or SI. The submission just needs to have all the right items and in the proper format so the lower level reviewers at Oklahoma City can approve without kicking it back to you for more information or sending it upstairs to the over loaded doctors.

The AME guide has the information you want. See this page. https://www.faa.gov/about/office_or...c_cons/disease_prot/diabetes_insulin/initial/

That explains what information you will need to gather from the doctor treating you for Type 1 and other doctors.

You will also need to demonstrate before and during a flight checking your sugar level and taking the appropriate action depending on what the reading is. Information about that is on this page. https://www.faa.gov/about/office_or...c_cons/disease_prot/diabetes_insulin/monitor/

Renewal information is on these pages:
https://www.faa.gov/about/office_or...ons/disease_prot/diabetes_insulin/subsequent/