Tube and Fabric tie down Southern California?

Addicted2climbing

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Addicted2climbing
Hello All,

I am a Student pilot about 75% done and my goal is to immediatley after get my tailwheel endorsement and buy a vintage taildragger. Something like a Champ, J3, J5, L2.. Unfortunately I am 6'4" tall so a luscombe, C140 is out even though they would be desireable being metal. A Tcart or Chief is a possibilty if I fit, but chances are will need a tandem arangement.

My problem is I live in the Los Angeles area and there is not much chance I could afford a Hanger. Sharring one is a possibility, but chances are I would need to keep it outside on a tie down for the first year or so of owning while I see if there is added funds for a hanger. Also none of my local airports have awnings to keep a plane under so it will be outside.. I fear this is a big no no, but curious if it would work with covers for the wings, stab, rudder and glass? Anyone have any experience with tube and fabric planes left out in the weather in So Cal? I know modern covering has come a long way so maybe its not as big a deal now...

Hello All,

I am a Student pilot about 75% done and my goal is to immediatley after get my tailwheel endorsement and buy a vintage taildragger. Something like a Champ, J3, J5, L2.. Unfortunately I am 6'4" tall so a luscombe, C140 is out even though they would be desireable being metal. A Tcart or Chief is a possibilty if I fit, but chances are will need a tandem arangement.