Transponder Issues

tpowers

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
tpowers
I purchased a Cessna 150 last September and have been having intermittent issues with it's transponder. Sometimes the Mode-C would go out, other times it would drop off the radar altogether.

It's a Narco AT50. I've been reading up on possible problems and the most common suggestion is to clean the contacts. I've done that with a can of Electro-wash both on the unit itself and in the connecting ports inside of the docking tray. However my problems persist.

Another potential culprit is the antenna. I noticed the antenna was mucky with a combination of dirt and oil so I went to gently clean it and as I did the antenna popped out of it's socket. Now, I'm new to this kind of stuff so I can only assume, based on all of the antennas that I've seen in the past, that they shouldn't just pop off. So unless there's something strange about transponder antennas I'm assuming at this point that it was a broken antenna which the previous owner just shoved back into the socket and hoped it would a) make some kind of contact allowing a signal to go through or at least b) look like an operable transponder antenna so some sucker (me) would buy the plane.

If, however, anyone knows of any reason why a transponder antenna should pop out with a gentle tug then please let me know. Also, assuming I'm going to be replacing this antenna, is there anything I should know? Is it as simple as unbolting the socket and bolting in another one or am I in for a surprise?

P.S. I know there are many different types of transponder antennas, this one is similar: http://www.skygeek.com/ted-104-12-transponder-antenna.html?utm_source=googlebase&utm_medium=shoppingengine&utm_content=ted-104-12-transponder-antenna&utm_campaign=froogle&gclid=CM_48vrL18oCFQymaQodascLRA

Last edited:
Might be time to change out the older unit for a new one,the antenna may have been installed with some sort of sealant ,to prevent moister leakage,.