Transitioning from the military

Matthew Spence

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Firebird 16
Hello, first time posting here. I am a few years from retirement in the Army. I’m a helicopter pilot by trade and fixed wing pilot for fun. I’m looking into what to do after retirement. I have no desire to join the airlines if I can avoid it and want to get opinions on starting my own 141 or 135 operation. I taught flight school for a number of years and I’m leaning towards growing a cfi business into a 141 operation to help my co workers making their jump from rotary to airlines. My certifications are
Rotary Wing Commercial, Instrument, CFI,CFII. Fixed wing ratings are in progress. Will have same as rotary wing plus ATP prior to retirement. I’m also an A&P with experience on both piston and turbine aircraft, rotary and fixed wing. Jack of all trades I suppose. Any thoughts on starting off in civil aviation. Starting out I would be drawing a $60k annual retirement from the army so I can weather start up years of no profits.

I have no idea, but thanks for your service to our great country! And welcome to the zoo!

The field is saturated. Growing a 141 operation will most likely require affiliating with a college and establishing a curriculum. I'm sure they'll expect you to cough up the capital for the airplanes,MX and dispatch. I've seen one here in my home field, the guy sold it after no kidding having a heart attack due to stress running that thing 24/7. The new owners sold the multis and are starting from scratch as part 61. Part 141 can be more lucrative because the income stream is more secure by virtue of the clients loan money.