Transitioning from C172R (1999) to C172E (1964)

Renesh Kumaresan

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Turb0123
Hi,
I’m a student pilot who is going to solo soon, and I’m being switched to a new aircraft my flight school has acquired. I have about 10hrs on a C172N and 5hrs on a C172R. I really like the performance of fuel injected and the nicer looking gauges. Apart from looks, what are major changes in the C172E from the previous mentioned aircraft.
Mainly, will airspeed be in knots or mph?
Thanks

The Johnson bar flap handle is pretty cool. The E model will have a very smooth six-cylinder Continental. Unless changed, airspeed is in MPH. And not many of them; cruise is 120 mph.

If you can fly an N or R model, you can fly any of the prior models too. I actually doubt you will have much of a transition phase either. The airspeed will be in MPH, so for reference what I do, is basically add 5’s to everything.

For example, in a 172N with KIAS, I’ll fly downwind at 75, base at 70 and final at 65 or thereabouts. With an airspeed gauge reading in MPH, just add 5 to those speeds. So 80, 75, 70. Works like a charm.

A hawk is a hawk... If you can fly one, you can fly any of them... Docile, forgiving airplane... Continental motor rather than Lycoming... manual flaps (maybe). Probably MPH on the ASI..

If you can fly an N or R model, you can fly any of the prior models too. I actually doubt you will have much of a transition phase either. The airspeed will be in MPH, so for reference what I do, is basically add 5’s to everything.

For example, in a 172N with KIAS, I’ll fly downwind at 75, base at 70 and final at 65 or thereabouts. With an airspeed gauge reading in MPH, just add 5 to those speeds. So 80, 75, 70. Works like a charm.

Actually, you want to add 10 for the conversion at those approach speeds but who's counting :)

Actually, you want to add 10 for the conversion at those approach speeds but who's counting :)