Trailer selection help requested

Morgan3820

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
El Conquistador
Now that inventories, if not pricing, has improved. I am going to upgrade to an enclosed trailer to haul my motorcycles to the mountains and other places. I was originally going with a 6 x 12 but I have been thinking about a 7 x 14, thinking that it would allow me to do a toy hauler conversion camper someday if I decided to go that route at some future date.

The question is it much more of a load pulling the bigger trailer? I have zero experience towing enclosed trailers. The current tow vehicle is an old F150 5.4L. It works fine with the current open trailer. Trips would involve highways and the Appalachians Hills. I would love a newer truck but for now the current vehicle will have to suffice.

Last edited:
Double wide. You will be the envy of the park.

A 7 by 14 will pull easily.
I regularly tow an 8.5 by 24 with my F150, only in a strong crosswind is it an issue. After having a bad experience with Mirage, I'll never buy that brand again.

7x14 ramp door height was an issue for the ranger so went slightly bigger. Have a 2019 f150 with the 3.5l Ecoboost. Tows it great. But mileage is atrocious. 6.5 miles from Illinois to northern new Mexico. No replacement for displacement. Looking back should have gotten the coyote engine.

We repair all types of trailers. They're all built very cheaply. And a manufacturer might have 3 different "brands". Cant say one is better than the other. I'd make sure to get a torque flex style axle. Electric brakes are a no brainer. Would probably stay away from the screw-less exterior

Until your looking at your trailer’s weight is more than your truck weighs, you’re probably not going to have a problem with the trailer.

Yes, there’s the occasional super-light high surface area trailer that has problems in the wind, but that means you probably don’t have enough weight in the trailer.