Touch and Go's

Fly-Fla

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Fly-Fla
I was reading some other threads and there seems to be two distinct camps on whether touch and Go's are acceptable in training. I am currently a pre solo student pilot training at an airport with a 7000 and 8000 X 150 runways. Both of the instructors I have had have me doing touch and Go's. I've also done several runs down the runway at 10 feet or so which I found to be incredibly demanding but fantastic training. Tell me your reasons for or against T&G's.

As long as you do not get rushed, with that big of a runway you'll be okay as long as you make sure you have a solid reconfigure. In general though, I'm not for them.

Last edited:
To me, T&G's are good practice... Others think they are dangerous.

Not a black-and-white decision...depends on the student's progress. In the first few hours of pattern work I do not like T&G because I want to use that taxi-back time to discuss the last landing. I do the taxiing because I want the student's mind to be concentrated on my words. As the student progresses from "learning to land" to "practicing landings," I will move toward more T&G's unless I see something that needs be discussed before the throttle goes forward.

Bob Gardner

Bounce and Gos save time. But as a geezer, I always felt rushed, so I prefer full stop particularly if I am flying something complex like a Cessna 150. In my taildragger I am happy with stop and gos because it is not as complicated (T&Gs don't count for tailwheel currency) and the stop gives you a couple seconds to switch (mental) gears.

To me, T&G's are good practice... Others think they are dangerous.

Stop and goes are good practice as they give a true gauge of your performance ability. That little bit is all it takes to make a big difference in avoiding stupid mistakes of taking things for granted.