Toeing the line: How close to the FRZ have you flown?

Wesley Merrick

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Wes
First of all a hello everyone: I'm new to the forums and joined mainly to ask questions such as this one and get other perspectives on aviation, cool stories and what not. I'm a college student with my PPL for helicopters (no fixed-wing ratings for me!) just trying to build a little time and expand my flying repertoire while I'm in school.

I have a friend who's been wanting to do a flight over his house for some time now, and I've finally planned it for this coming Sunday. The catch is he lives on the north-western edge of Rockville, MD and his house is somewhere between 0.6 and 0.8nm from the border of the FRZ. I trained for my license in and around the SFRA and am perfectly comfortable/familiar with flying in it and avoiding bravo airspace, etc. but have never been quite so close to the FRZ.

Being a helicopter I would like to think I can avoid getting much closer half a nautical mile, but I wanted to ask around and see if any of you have been that close to the boundary and if so, have you had to do anything in addition to normal SFRA procedures?

Tell the controller exactly what you're doing where you plan to do it; use radials and distance in reference to the DCA VOR. Advise when you're on point and confirm you're clear of the FRZ. The important thing is that ATC knows how close you're coming to the FRZ, so that they can sooth the guys in the really really dark room underground who will start to get nervous when they see an un-vetted aircraft getting close to the FRZ.

Oh and for the record, I'm based on the FRZ so you could say I go all the way.

Does his path into or out of the FRZ have to process through an "approach gate" and is that house near one? The devil is in the details...

Does his path into or out of the FRZ have to process through an "approach gate" and is that house near one? The devil is in the details...