To get a PPL or not?

nmodor

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
nmodor
Hello all! I'm new to the forum and have been interested in training for a PPL for some time now but have never become serious about it until recently. I am a senior undergrad with one semester left and will need extra hours to be a full time student during this last semester. I can obtain my PPL through the aviation department and get enough extra hours from this to be considered full time. However, I will hopefully be starting medical school next fall and am wondering if I will have time to put a PPL to good use if I end up enrolling in the courses to obtain one in the spring. Will it be an issue if I'm not able to fly very often in medical school?

Also, my father is not very supportive of the idea. He has known people who have died piloting smaller planes and is under the impression that I should not fly unless I will have time to do it regularly and maintain a high level of experience. I will be paying for it so its not a matter of financial support. I just don't want him to be worried about it.

Any thoughts?

Well you can certainly get a pilot certificate, and then let it lay dormant while you're in med school. You'll just need to spend some time working the rust off when you want to pick it up again.

I think it just depends on how urgently you want to get the certificate.

The safety record for instruction is very very good, by the way. And YOUR safety in a general aviation airplane is directly related to the effort you'll put in to manage the risks.

Go for it. I'm sure your dad knows lots of people who have died in car wrecks, but you still both drive.

It is good for the soul to fly.

Do it.

You can stop, pick it up later.
You can fly once a month, or every couple. If you don't feel comfortable, pay a CFI to ride along and go out for a hamburger.

Becoming a pilot taught me other skills besides being a pilot.