Tired of cocky CFIs

U

Unregistered

So im a commercial MEL pilot, never got my CFI, spend 1000hrs flying in Alaska. Now i fly charter with a company that also does flight instruction. I flew with one of our CFIs the other day and he was terrible. Lesson to CFIs out there. Just because you have an instructors rating and know the "regs" (Which i know too) does not mean your gods gift to the world.

I think its funny that CFIs think their such hot ****, when really they arent the ones flying 90% of the time.

I coach soccer and i can tell you right now the guys i'm coaching are 10x better players than I am, simply because they actually play everyday.

Time to grow up CFIs

Agreed. They have no idea what they don't know.

Haha. We might believe you are a better pilot then your CFI coworkers, if you had any confidence.

My favorite CFIs around here are about the most laid back guys you will find. Their style is so mild that you are learning something without realizing you are getting training...

Great guys to have a beer with as well.

Both are great stick and rudder folks as well. One younger than I and the other is older. Both will pretty much let me do things with the airplane that would make me nervous if I was in the right seat with a dumb dumb like me. But they know when to get excited and I'll hear "my airplane" and then some instruction.

Anyway, I've bumped into the young, dumb and [edit] CFIs too. But I was in the ARMY so I understand the mindset.. Join them, or ignore them. Just don't get in the clouds with one that believes his own marketing.

So im a commercial MEL pilot, never got my CFI, spend 1000hrs flying in Alaska. Now i fly charter with a company that also does flight instruction. I flew with one of our CFIs the other day and he was terrible. Lesson to CFIs out there. Just because you have an instructors rating and know the "regs" (Which i know too) does not mean your gods gift to the world.