Timebuilding, where?

ice_air

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
student
Hi guys/girls.

I am a PPL pilot from Iceland, studying for CPL.
The hours here in Iceland are way to expensive (in my opinion) and the weather doesn´t help. So I´m thinking of going somewhere else to fly most of the hours I need before finishing my training. I´ve heard that some pilots from Iceland have gone to Florida for timebuilding.. but I don´t know which clubs/schools.

What schools or clubs in USA do you guys recommend, where I could have good access to SEP plaines, with generally good weather and of course reasonable prices?

I know a guy in Montana who'll rent you a Cessna 150 for $60/hr WET. Take a tent and camp at the airport. If you need some complex time, he's got a cutlass too that rents at a good rate (i don't recall the exact number, something like $100/hr wet).

Art's got it -- what's your goal? If it's a professional piloting career, the big airline-feeder schools are probably your best choice. They also have a lot of experience with the special rules/approval procedures for non-US citizens taking training in the US. OTOH, if you just want to build hours without taking any training for higher ratings/certificates, pretty much anyone who'll rent you a plane will do.

As for where to go, the best choices for year-round flying are probably South Florida, Southeast Texas, Southern California (probably the most expensive) and Arizona.

-1 for Florida, +1 for Arizona or California.

I, personally, find Florida pretty boring, as it is entirely flat what makes flying neither particularly interesting nor challenging. I did my PPL there - it was a nice time, I enjoyed it, but don't think it would be worth to spend more time there.

My favorite flight school in California is the Petaluma Pilot Training Center http://petalumapilottrainingcenter.com/prices.html (Ask for Peggy for the checkout - she will sure tell you something about landings)