Thunderstorms in S. Texas Sunday a.m.?

scottd

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
scottd

Last edited:
The Hyrdometeorological Prediction Center (HPC) is showing the potential (30 to 50 percent coverage) for showers and thunderstorms in southern Texas based on the forecast...

Who's right? What other products can you use to help figure this out? Will there be thunder in southern Texas tomorrow morning?
It's a big area. Wouldn't surprise me if there were a few, but not widespread...

Ryan

Well, Scott, I am no weather expert (we rely upon you for that, and I need a lot more), but I am something like experienced in Texas weather, so here's my home-boy experience talking.

With a flow of moisture up from the gulf across Mexico, I always expect the morning clouds, and as the day heats up, the possibility of convective stuff. But, absent a frontal system, you'll always have someplace to go, and you'll be able to avoid convective weather using the mark II eyeball.

In any event, being now in south Texas (T82) and intending to fly home tomorrow, I sure hope it's OK!

Well, Scott, I am no weather expert (we rely upon you for that, and I need a lot more), but I am something like experienced in Texas weather, so here's my home-boy experience talking.

With a flow of moisture up from the gulf across Mexico, I always expect the morning clouds, and as the day heats up, the possibility of convective stuff. But, absent a frontal system, you'll always have someplace to go, and you'll be able to avoid convective weather using the mark II eyeball.

In any event, being now in south Texas (T82) and intending to fly home tomorrow, I sure hope it's OK!

Local experience does certainly help.