Three mistakes I made while going to Sun and Fun today

FloridaPilot

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
FloridaStudentPilot
Hello all,

Today I finally made it to Sun and Fun over at Lakeland for the very first time and I made three mistakes, here they are:

#1. I brought the misses with me, (She is not really into flying as much as myself so bathroom and food breaks were often).

#2. I didn't bring a chair.

#3. I went on a Sunday, (Which I don't recommend because people were packing up early to leave and I was frantically trying to see everything before it closes). Next year I will do the entire weekend.

What did you folks think about Sun and Fun this year?

Thanks!

I have no point of reference, this is the first year I went (though I've been doing Oshkosh for 20 years). Smaller and friendlier than Oshkosh for sure:

1. My wife was presenting so we got wrist bands and a exhibitor parking pass for the week for the both of us. Oshkosh wouldn't even give you a pass for the day you were on the podium.

2. We came on field Monday (before it technically opened) and the security officer asked "May I help you?" At Oshkosh this is a challenge meaning explain yourself or get the hell out. Here, he just wanted to know if we needed directions or other information.

3. Trams are frequent and stop often. However, I never took one because one side to the other is less distance than my campsite to the showers at Oshkosh.

4. Lots of golf carts that even offered rides.

I didn't make it this year, but I lived in FL last year and drove over. Last year wasn't anything special. Most of the performances were cancelled and quite a lot of aircraft couldn't make it down. I was disappointed.

#1. Use comfortable shoes. Sperrys didn't work well.

#2. Bring a chair.

#3. Bring more money for concessions.

#4. Bring a backpack to carry everything.