This might be a dumb question...

Palamedes

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Jason Ellis
I'm very new to the whole general aviation thing so forgive any dumb questions please.

I'm still learning and of course I'm browsing the aircraft sales sites and magazines dreaming.. I noticed that there are quite a lot of older aircraft that are very reasonably priced and it made me wonder;

Can you put modern "glass cockpit" avionics in an older aircraft?

For example; Could you put a G1000 or iEFIS glass cockpit into a a '65 Piper Warrior?

Not saying I would, I'm just wondering if its possible and what the pro's and con's be of doing such a thing?

I'm very new to the whole general aviation thing so forgive any dumb questions please.

I'm still learning and of course I'm browsing the aircraft sales sites and magazines dreaming.. I noticed that there are quite a lot of older aircraft that are very reasonably priced and it made me wonder;

For example; Could you put a G1000 or iEFIS glass cockpit into a a '65 Piper Warrior?

Not saying I would, I'm just wondering if its possible and what the pro's and con's be of doing such a thing?

If you have the money, you can do anything you want.

There are glass retrofits out there, like:

http://www.aspenavionics.com/products/general-aviation/

Oh, and pros and cons:
Pros: Awesome, more reliable than older vacuum powered instruments, offers better situational awareness and increased safety

Cons: Expensive, installation and components could potentially cost 3/4 ++ of the airframe value, hard to get your money back when you sell, even then may take a long time because not everyone is looking for whiz bang wow factor at a premium price in that sort of airplane.

Last edited:
Okay so there is nothing limiting in the aircraft itself... electrical issues, bus amperage, sockets, housings and mounts, etc...

Henning on this board put a G600 I think in his 310.

The only dumb question is the one you don't ask.