This is what I'm bringing my son into...

SkyHog

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Everything Offends Me
http://www.cnn.com/2013/05/24/us/new-york-twitter-suspension/index.html?sr=sharebar_facebook

An upstate New York student said he got a three-day suspension for creating a controversial Twitter hashtag encouraging discussion of the school district's failed budget.

Unbelievable. I don't think there's an intelligent person out there that doesn't agree that almost all schools are administration heavy, except maybe the administrators themselves....but regardless, how can a school tell its students that they want them to be involved in community, and to be leaders, and then punish them when they actually act as a thought leader?

I thought high school was bad when I went through it. I graduated 13 years ago, and in the last 13 years, schools have gotten WAAAAY out of hand. I stood up to the principals and even the superintendant of APS on a number of occasions, I was treated unfairly, and from time to time, I was even suspended for reasons I should have not been....but the ways our schools are working these days, its a wonder that any of our kids are going to be capable of dealing with society and difficult leadership by the time they graduate.

Private school sounds better and better every day.

Yes, private school does sound better.

Clearly the school administration overstepped it's authority and infringed on the student's free speech right. Courts have consistently held that students have the right to speak out as long as it doesn't interfere with the education process.

Does Colorado permit charter schools?

Hmmm. Well, I was in high school before your father was born.
I did not "stand up" to the principal or get suspended.
His job was to run the school.
My job was to show up on time and pass my courses.
We each had our defined roles.
The idea that pimple faced, fourteen year old's have 'rights' is foreign to me.