Thinking of starting a business

Morgan3820

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
El Conquistador
Looking to retire from my soul sucking job in a couple of years and thinking of selling my modest skills in boat carpentry. I have been working on boats for myself for 3 decades. My marine
mechanic friend says that there is a big demand for custom marine carpentry, particularly replacing cabin soles, head liners, custom cabinetry. He offered to refer me to customers. He has seen my work and does not do woodworking.

The pluses are, I live in a marine community with several hundred yachts, sail and power, within walking/bicycle distance. Multiple times that number within a half hour drive. There are several specialty lumber suppliers nearby. I have a well equipped, climate controlled workshop, attached to my house with a dock to slip a boat if needed for the bigger projects. So, low/no overhead. I am not talking about boat building, just improvement/repair projects on existing boats.

The downside are my fears. I have never worked for myself, luckily, I have always had that steady paycheck. Financially, the retirement check will cover the bare essentials, utilities, taxes etc., but no extras. Also, fortunately, affordable medical insurance is included with retirement. While I am good for an amateur, do I have the skills to make it doing it for other people? This really concerns me. I have had no formal training/apprenticeship. If there was a quality boatyard nearby I could go work for them, but there are few, and those few that there are, charge astoni$hing :eek: amounts. I would be happy to get a third of their rate. My own projects include rebuilding a 38 ft. sailboat from a derelict, to include new engine install, deck core replacement, rigging, completely rewiring the boat, equipment installs. But time was not an issue. I will be on the clock with other peoples boats.